Collins Cup logo
Team Europe
Team USA
Team Internationals

Current Standings

The Battle To See Who Rules Triathlon









The Collins Cup…40 Years In The Making

The Collins Cup was inspired by and named after Judy and John Collins, who 40 years ago were instrumental in establishing the sport of triathlon by inaugurating a long distance event on the idyllic shores of Hawaii, where they were stationed while John was a Commander in the US Navy. Inspired by their recent experience in short distance triathlon in California, they designed a long distance, around-the-island event in Hawaii, by adding a long bicycle leg to existing swimming and running events. The winner was to be considered the best all-round athlete.

Since that fateful day, triathletes, male and female, have established themselves as some of the fittest athletes on the planet. From its earliest days, the competition has included men and women racing the same distance, over the same course, on the same day for equal prize money. This has always been an important principle of the Collins’ and the cornerstone of the philosophy of the Professional Triathletes Organisation.

Collins Cup - 40 years in the making

It is quite incredible really. It is hard for us to believe that our endurance event started in Hawaii in the 1970s, with only 15 participants, has now inspired a global spectacle with professional teams from the USA, Europe and the Internationals competing for a trophy named after us. We are humbled and want to thank the Professional Triathletes Organisation for honouring us in this way.

John & Judy Collins

A Triathlon Race Unlike Any Other


Men & Women Pro’s

Three teams, USA, Europe and Internationals.

Each team has six men and six women athletes.

Eight, four men and four women, are selected based on the PTO World Rankings.

The remaining four athletes, two men and two women, will be selected by the team captains.


Action-packed Races

An athlete from each team, USA, Europe and Internationals, will fight it out against their opponents in an individual race of three.

Twelve separate races in all, staggered ten minutes apart.



For each of the twelve races, the winner is awarded 3 points, second place, 2 points and third place, 1 point.

In addition, athletes will be awarded bonus points of ½ point for every two minute margin by which they beat their opponents in their respective races.

A maximum of six minutes margin per race can earn a team a crucial 1½ bonus points.

The team with the most points wins
and will lift The Collins Cup.